24 January 2007 @ 11:45 pm
This isn't a cry for sympathy.  
(infer a 'but', but not a contradiction.)


I think I officially started freaking out today. Like, FREAKING OUT. I don't think that it's got to the point where it's noticeable to anyone but me yet, but I am really, really noticing it. It's more of a sense of rising panic than anything identifiable. That and the fact that little tiny things are really starting to bother me. I spent ages online today trying to find Universities that had good Astronomy departments. Unfortunately, all the websites I went to seemed to have a whole lot of information about the Unis, and the faculties and stuff, but they refused to actually give me information about what _papers_ were offered. The reason (partly) I was looking this up was because I discovered the the Astronomy department at Canterbury is LAME. I half think it's an error on the website, but for some BIZARRE reason the 300-level papers (third year, what should, in theory be the hardest and most important year of a Bachelor's degree) are only worth 14 points. You get this in perspective when you know that an average 100-level paper is worth 18 points, and most 300-levels are worth at least 28. *flails* So even if by some miracle I could organise my degree to include the masses of physics and maths papers I'm gonna need to take if I add Astronomy to my degree, I couldn't get a double-degree with Astronomy as my major because I wouldn't have enough points. >8[ I am very annoyed. And sent a very annoyed (but hopefully still polite) email to the head of the Astronomy/Physics department that basically boiled down to, "Is this a mistake, and if it isn't, why do you even bother to offer astronomy if you can't provide the credits to make it viable?" *glares* Thus, anger and annoyance and Uni-searching. Kyoto Uni in Japan seemed to have a good Astronomy department, but there's really no way of knowing without having a look at their paper-list.

Anyway, I'm officially not worrying about this at the moment because it doesn't affect my first year anyway. This just contributed to stress and frustration today.

Also, work is being spastic, everyone is wanting to say goodbye to me at once, I totally forgot to do my washing today so I'm going to have to get up REALLY early to get it done and dry before work again tomorrow. My increasing stress levels mean that I'm not eating enough, (again) RSI is getting in the way of writing. I spilt milo all over the stairs. I jammed my finger in the doors at work, (hurts, but not too bad because of quick use of ice in a milk-jug at work, XD). The T.V. keeps taunting me with the return of Grey's Anatomy, (since CHRISTMAS!) but still refuses to start it. I really need to start packing, which is freaking me out because. Zom. Where to start???? My cat's evil, 'looks like melanoma' absess-thingies on her nose are getting worse, again. I had this strange, excruciating abdominal pain last night. And all in all I'm tired, stressed and freaking the fuck out. I've got three weeks until I leave and I am totally mentally unprepared.

Fuck.

It's the final countdown.


--
Tags: ,
 
 
Current Mood: FREAKING OUT
 
 
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] mimei.livejournal.com on January 24th, 2007 11:49 am (UTC)
you may not be able to major in it. some subjects you can only minor in. i would check the handbook, it should explain... your points systems sounds even more cracked out than ours @_@

personally...well...just remember if you take maths and physics at uni it's going to be work. at least, if you're like me. it's cool if you're a really good studier. but maths...yeah, work..physics, more work. not that i want to discourage you from doing astronomy because i don't (i think it'd be AWESOME to take)...i can understand why it's a problematic thing though. also, you'll probably get way better & faster results if you ring the student centre or the dept reception - the HOD might not have time to reply to your email.
does Kyoto teach in english?

omg @ all the yucky things. *huggles tightly* when do you leave??? just take things as they come, ne? *hugs more* ♥
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on January 24th, 2007 09:17 pm (UTC)
But it's so retarded, why offer it at all if you are earning _less_ credits at third year that you do at first!? Hahaha, the system is okay, it's actually quite easy to use, this one subject is just retarded. (I have no handbook, I operate solely online! Ph34r my Internet Uni skillz!)

I don't mind the work aspect. In fact, I prefer subjects that you're either right or wrong for, and that don't really require sortof... nebulous thought. (*snerk*) If that makes any sense. The real problem is that I have to do like, introductory physics and maths before I can get to the papers that are pre-requisites for Astronomy. But thanks for the warning. My arts degree will still be holding up, so even if I decide to abandon the whole thing as being too hard, I'll still have a working degree. I'm not really expecting the HOD to reply in a hurry, as I said, all this doesn't really affect my first year so I don't really mind.

No, Kyoto doesn't, which does present a problem. But by the time I would go I'd have at least finished 2nd or 3rd year Japanese. But still, that probably wouldn't be nearly enough for me to follow things at a University level, would it?

Yes, yucky yucky poo poo maly. I leave at 1:10pm on thursday Feb 15th. And I'll be in Auckland airport for like, 45 minutes between 1:45 and 2:30 (depending on planes and stuffs.) if you're hanging around and bored 8^ (<- my new emoticon for hopeful-face).

uber-hugs and snuggles!
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
queenbarwench: aurora blue[personal profile] queenbarwench on January 24th, 2007 06:32 pm (UTC)
I may be slightly biased since I went there, but University College London has a good Physics and Astronomy Dept. They're my mortal enemies (I'm a Chemist) but it's a good dept. and there should be plenty of info online.

A science degree in London will be expensive, though, so take that into account.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on January 24th, 2007 09:22 pm (UTC)
Ooo! That's really good to know, thanks. The website (compared with all the others I've visited) was really helpful. But yeah, unless I really do turn out to be a genius *cough*yeahright*cough* and can get a massive scholarship, I probably wouldn't be able to afford that. *le sigh* I do love my government and its endless paying for my education. Even if, in theory, >_> I'm supposed to pay it all back. ....... >_>;
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] petite-ari.livejournal.com on January 25th, 2007 05:23 am (UTC)
Hey! I'm going to try to call you tonight, so theres not much point in me writing this... yeah...
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on January 25th, 2007 09:26 am (UTC)
Except that you _didn't_ call me, and now I'm all grumpy because I was supposed to do something with a friend last night and they never text'd me, and now you were supposed to call and you didn't. *flails* (Is the guilt-trip kicking your ass yet?)

Oh, by the way, (if you or Adam checks your email in the next few days before I call you next,) my plane arrives from Auckland at 3:50pm on Feb 15. *grumpy-hugs!*
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)