02 September 2006 @ 04:01 pm
mini update (well, maybe not so mini)  
Coz I'm bored but don't have time to start anything before work.

Writing cheats!

When stuck, SWITCH P.O.V! I have no idea how to do the next scene with Harry in Dry My Tears. Like, I've thought of about 5 different scenarios but none seem right. SO, I decided to throw Anita into the SL to see what she might do. 800~ words later, I am tired but pleased with the overall outcome. Hopefully Harry will think of some form of inspiration for me in the next few days for Scene2.

At this rate Dry My Tears is going to catch up with Burn to Shine, which is both hilarious, (because DMT was supposed to be 1 chapter long,) and HIGHLY IRRITATING, (because BtS is being LAME AND STUCKY!).

Other stuff:

I installed Office 2003 today because I need powerpoint to view a heap of things for my course. I am pleased to find huge wads of information that will help me pass my current assignment. I only wish the lecturers had TOLD me that this stuff existed BEFORE I did hours and hours of unhelpful research. *growls*

Meanwhile I had great amusement in playing with some classic Windows, Unnecessary Options(TM) like the one in Word that lets you instantly format your work in to a classic paperback-novel format. I was giggling with glee for some time after discovering that. My only question is, what could it POSSIBLY be FOR??????

Anyway, I gtg. I'm thinking about buying heaps of makeup tomorrow, just coz I'm sick of never having the right stuff. Does anybody have an opinion?
Tags: ,
 
 
Current Mood: bored
 
 
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] mimei.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 09:44 am (UTC)
switching POV is a good strategy, but you can only use it if it's actually permissible for the POV to change. (like, fanfic = fine, origific = no.) but it does depend on the narrative.

bwah *shoots your lecturers for you*

what can it be for D: D: D: D: windows = D:

i have no opinion i'm afraid.
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 10:16 am (UTC)
Well, I'm not one of these people who switch POV like, mid-scene, OR WORSE! Mid-PARAGRAPH! Yeah, no. Badness.

Thanks, they need to be shot.

Hah, yeah, windows is nuts. I only wish I was enough of a geek to understand Linux (sp?) Then I would be Ultimate.

Noooooo. Your opinion is allowed to be: "make-up sucka dn you should spend money on books instead" if you want. I hate spending on not-books. I hate spending on MAKEUP but I keep needing it and being annoyed that I don't have it. *frowns*
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] mimei.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 10:22 am (UTC)
ah yeah, of course not. :) i'm sure you know what you're doing and if you don't you'll figure it out!!!

*peace sign*

Linux is a bitch, Windows will suffice. Linux just takes sooo much work.

I don't have anything against makeup (unless it's tested on animals) I just don't really know what advice to give :3 maybe the helpful assistant people will be helpful? And yeah I hate spending money on it too. *shudder*
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 10:48 am (UTC)
^_^V

'windows will suffice' What all who care have been saying for years. At least the later versions of Windows work a little better, and MOST things you can alter if the default is stupid. (most... some... a few... oh, shut up)

How do you tell if stuff has been tested on animals anyway? Does it have a little smiling bunny on the back if it hasn't?

I hope the helpful assistant will be helpful. I was just looking at this info brochure and it had like, 6 different types of foundation, each one for a diferent skin type and age etc. I was like, "They have different foundations for different SKIN? Weird!" So yeah. I'm just gonna ask the Lady.

P.S. Love that icon.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] mimei.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 11:05 am (UTC)
well, i've tried Linux, and i don't really like Windows, but i like the way i've set mine up so...yeah.

it says on the label. but if it doesn't, then it was tested on animals. it always states if it wasn't and it usually says when it is (but not strictly as 'tested on animals' in less obvious ways).

yeah, that's why you use the tester on the side of your hand. but. good luck!!!

THANKS! JIN IS AWESOME OH YES. :D
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)
[identity profile] krm--authoress.livejournal.com on September 2nd, 2006 11:49 pm (UTC)
Writing cheats~ Yay! You could always rip off something! (Yes, I've been watching "Whose Line Is It Anyway" videos way to much)

Heh, I start school on the seventh. A bit nervous, but very excited. And playing around with things on the computer is one of the best way to learns things. (Then again is one of the worst when you always have to help other people with their computers)

*reels back in complete horror* Make-up? How.....how could you? *hisses, backing away*
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on September 3rd, 2006 11:18 am (UTC)
It's fanfiction! I'm already ripping stuff off!

OOOO yay! Exciting-much! I can still remember the start of High-School so well. It was utterly nerve-racking, but still not as bad as my nightmares had imagined it to be. I'm sure you'll be fine.

Hahahaha, I must say, I kinda expected I'd get that reaction from someone. Yeah, I kinda don't like make-up, but at the same time, I'm ocasionally overcome by girly tendancies. And when I actually bother to put makeup on (happens about once every two months) I wan't to actually look nice, not like all my makeup comes from the bottom of my grandmother's cupboards.
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)