30 August 2006 @ 12:24 am
cheese is yummy!  
Random things...

Went to Auckland to see my Mum who is studying THE MOST RETARDED COURSE EVER!!! Which is like, a month long and they set all these assignments but never really teach anything so you're kinda supposed to already know everything before you start which is STUPID and how DARE they charge $3,000 and they are big assholes and cater to like, 0.0001% of the population and are DORKS! So there! Yeah, she was busy but glad to see me and Dad.

ALSO went to see [livejournal.com profile] mimei and her friend Simon again and we played pool and sang some karaoke. It was UBER fun and I forgot how nice it is to actually hang out with people my own age who aren't Lame, Boring or Have No Interests Similar To Mine. (or a combination thereof). It was great. *looks forward to uni next year*

Also;

WHAT is it with people who write HAPPY stories? Like, all the characters get on, the main character doesn't angst - or if s/he does, it's kinda like, 'Well, aren't I irritated, I guess I'll have to frown for two seconds then calmly eat some strawberry pie.' People who should be arguing just DON'T. They all seem live in this non-reality where everything is made of CANDYFLOSS!

Now, I have no objections to candyfloss in general, but don't WRITE about it!!! It's so freaking BORING! Even if there is "plot" (i.e. Stuff happening) if there is no personal conflict, then it just reads like a text book or something. ARG!

And everyone else, please, PLEASE don't REC these stories!!! They may be gramatically correct but they are innately LAME and should go on a 'these are okay but not brilliant' list, instead of the same list as glorious masterpieces like this, or, this, or this. (okay so, those aren't masterpieces but they are freaking good.)

Mmm, yeah, I think that gets rid of my rant urges for tonight. Gotta get to bed! (really low on sleep lately).

I started Ch3 of DMT on Sunday. Ch6 of BtS is veeeeery roughly finished simply because I realised if I kept going it would be twice as long as all the other chapters by time I got to where I wanted to finish. Bleh. yeah. sleep.
 
 
Current Mood: cranky
 
 
( Post a new comment )
[identity profile] mimei.livejournal.com on August 30th, 2006 12:31 am (UTC)
lol that course sound sort of retarded when you told me about it but who am i to say? :p she'll still get the qualification though, right? and that's really what you're paying the money for.

haha, yes, simon and i rawk ;)

maybe people write happy stories to escape the misery that is living. fiction is all about escapism after all. but i like fluff though. fluff is good. especially if it comes in the form of angst-angst-angst-fluff. anyway...if there's no conflict there usually isn't a plot so i don't see how happy stories can be maintained long? plus i'd never rec you happy stuff ;D i think a happy fic could be non-lame. i don't see why it couldn't. i think the main problem would be the lack of social realism, probably. and the lack of conflict. but fluff is still good, so.............
(Reply) (Link)
[identity profile] krm--authoress.livejournal.com on August 30th, 2006 12:53 pm (UTC)
Oi, Page, now you got me all nervous again about starting to write my own stories.

Haven't heard someone describe it as candyfloss, though that gave me the best idea ever~
(Reply) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] prairie-grass.livejournal.com on August 30th, 2006 08:53 pm (UTC)
no no! This isn't supposed to be a deterrent, it's supposed to be a warning. I'm sure you are completely aware that you need conflict to make a story interesting. It's people who write these big, long stories that do have conflict, but it's like one issue that's sorta over to the side, meanwhile the characters all just sit around talking to each other and arent affected by the conflict much at all. It's like the author scoops the passion, the threat; the excitement out of the story. You're far too crazy to have a story with no passion. Sehti wouldn't let you. :D

Hahah, you're imagination frightens me sometimes.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread) (Link)
[identity profile] krm--authoress.livejournal.com on August 31st, 2006 01:15 pm (UTC)
No, Sehti wouldn't, how could he let me have forgotton!

It does frighten you? Aww *pets imagination* it shouldn't *both KRM and her imagination give you an evil look*
(Reply) (Parent) (Link)